Featured Member: Mark McCallon

McCallon_Mark Official Photo Mark McCallon is Associate Dean for Library Services, Abilene Christian University, Abilene, TX. He has been a member CLS for seven years.

What are you reading or listening to today? The Grain Brain by David Perlmutter.

What’s the best part of your work day? Teaching online in our Masters of Higher Education program. I have been a facilitator for five years and really enjoy it.

What are you most excited about right now (library related or otherwise)? Library related: Demand Driven Access e books and Get It Now article delivery. In these challenging budgetary times, it seems like the best direction to go. Otherwise: My daughter’s graduation from elementary school.

How has your membership in CLS helped you? I love that CLS is so inclusive of the broader scope of higher education. Being a part of CLS has given me opportunities to interact with colleagues from both large research universities and liberal arts colleges. I find the “Your Research Coach” program to be a great help to both new and experienced librarians and I enjoyed being involved with it.

Contact Mark by email

