Featured Member: Samantha Gust

samantha gustSamantha Gust is Head of Acquisitions at Niagara University Library, Niagara, NY. She is a newer member of CLS, having joined a year and a half ago. Welcome Samantha!

What are you reading or listening to today?
I’m reading a debut novel called “The Next” and am reviewing it for Library Journal. For music, I’ve been listening to Prince, Sloan, or whatever my iTunes on shuffle decides to surprise me with.

What’s the best part of your work day?
My job is diverse, so the best part of my work day could be quickly getting a book into a user’s hands through our Purchase on Demand service, solving an interlibrary loan citation puzzle, helping a student with a research question, or getting a database to work via EZ Proxy on the first try! Every day is different and provides me with various opportunities to assist our users and improve their library experience.

What are you most excited about right now (library-related or otherwise)?
I’m excited about the upcoming Buffalo Bills (football) and Buffalo Sabres (hockey) seasons. Is THIS our year? Just making the playoffs would be nice! 🙂

How has your membership in CLS helped you?
I truly enjoy the “A Day in the Life of a CLS Member” feature and learning about my colleagues from college libraries around the country. {thanks Samantha!} And as many others have already said, the collib-l listserv is invaluable.

Contact Samantha at  gust@niagara.edu
Connect with her on LinkedIn at https://www.linkedin.com/in/samantha-gust-588aa7106

